The countdown to our new indoor season is under way. It all clicks off at 7.45pm on Wednesday 27 September. Drop us an email if you'd like to be on our news mailing list.

Programme

Autumn and winter programme 2017-2018 (indoors)

SEPTEMBER 2017
  • Wednesday 27 September: enrolment and programme overview

OCTOBER 2017
  • Wednesday 4 October: club talk – How to enter and win competitions
  • Wednesday 11 October: filters practical evening – Looking at filters; what they are, what they do and how to use them

    Submission date for open contest
  • Saturday 15 and Sunday 16 October: outdoors practical at Knaresborough Castle Use your filters in earnest
  • Wednesday 18 October: People of Ripon, guest speaker Paul Oldham
  • Wednesday 25 Open competition: judged by Gary Lawson

NOVEMBER 2017
  • Wednesday 1 November: digital techniques – Textures, borders, frames, diptychs and triptychs
  • Saturday 5 and Sunday 6 November: outdoors practical at Brimham Rocks – Use your landscape photography skills
  • Wednesday 8 November: club talk practical review evening  Presenting and discussing work from the Knaresborough Castle and Brimham Rocks practical sessions
  • Wednesday 15 November: practical –  Still life tabletop photography

    Submission date for mono competition
  • Wednesday 22 November: guest speaker Giles Rocholl – Modern landscape photography
  • Wednesday 29 November: mono competition judged by Alison Raven

DECEMBER 2017
  • Wednesday 6 December: Let's go light painting  Light painting, general night photography and Christmas lights
  • Wednesday 13 December: club talk – Practical review evening presenting and discussing the results of the tabletop top and night photography practical sessions

JANUARY 2018
  • Wednesday 24 January: club talk – Six of the best action and sport images
  • Saturday 27 and Sunday 28: outdoors practical  Outdoor portrait session with model and outdoor lighting 
  • Wednesday 31 January: practical indoor portrait session  – Working with a model and studio lighting

FEBRUARY 2018
  • Wednesday 7 February: practical review evening – Presenting and discussing results from the outdoor and indoor portrait practical sessions


Submission date for action competition

  • Wednesday 14 February: digital processing session – Software and techniques and portrait editing demonstration
  • Wednesday 21 February: action competition judged by Ian Wray
  • Wednesday 28 February: open practical evening taking –  Suggestions from club members
        Submission date for portrait competition

MARCH
  • Wednesday 7 March: mini lectures Presentations from club members
  • Wednesday 14 March: portrait competition judged by TBC
  • Wednesday 21 March: guest speaker Kathryn WiddowsonThe business of photography
  • Wednesday 28 March: final competition of the season – Best of the best. Winners from the year go head to head. Judged by Ian Wray

APRIL 2018
  • Wednesday 4 April: AGM – the opportunity to voice your opinions on the year.

NOTE: GUEST SPEAKERSplease click here for guidance notes.